top of page

SWCD Supervisor Filing from May 19th - June 2nd, 2020

This year, the Stearns County Soil & Water Conservation District has 3 Supervisor positions up for election. SWCD candidates appear on the ballot for the general election which will take place November 3rd, 2020.

Candidates are elected countywide, but must reside in one of the nomination districts up for election. Residents of cities within each Area may also run. SWCD Supervisors serve four-year terms and are staggered so either two or three Supervisors are up for election every two years. The nominating districts and candidates running for election this year include:

Arlyn Lawrenz - representing Area 2 - covering northeast Stearns County (Townships of Krain, Holding, Brockway, Albany, Avon, St. Wendel and LeSauk)

Dave Weller - representing Area 3 - covering southwest Stearns County County (Townships of North Fork, Lake George, Spring Hill, St. Martin, Crow Lake, Crow

River, Lake Henry, and Zion)

Matt Bruyette - representing Area 4 - covering south-central Stearns County (Townships of Farming, Collegeville, Munson, Wakefield, Paynesville, Eden Lake, and Luxemburg)

Supervisors meet monthly to discuss the business of the SWCD, including state grant allocations to landowners, district conservation priorities, coordination with other local units of government and state agencies, and legislative priorities. Supervisors do not receive a salary, although they do receive a per diem for attending meetings and are reimbursed for expenses.

Those interested in running for a Supervisor position should file at the Stearns County Auditor’s Office from May 19th through June 2nd, 2020. If you have questions or would like additional information, please contact the Stearns County SWCD office at 320.251.7800 ext. 3 or visit our website at

Further information can be found on the Stearns County election page:

bottom of page